Leap of Faith – Christopher Gayles Testimony

Today I was cleaning out some files from my work computer.  It’s been so slow at work which is a nice relief to be able to catch up on some stuff and also finding gems like this in my document files.  So here it is….be encouraged and know that if God if for you, no one…I mean NO ONE can be against you!  LEAP ON!!

Faith – Ephesians 3:12    In whom we have boldness and access with confidence by the Faith of Him

Here is where Chris’s story begins:

So it’s time to tell you all my story of FAITH

As some of you know…I quit my job at Bank of America on Feb 7th. (Pause – for the moment of shock)

Let me rewind a little bit….Before quitting, I was at work and hating every day of being at that job.

One day  I decided that I’m going too fast for 2 weeks…Fruits and Veggies, that’s it.  The first day was the hardest.  I was at work feeling nauseous and really sick, but I survived.
One week goes by and I’m feeling good and am proud that I’m doing it.

Monday, Feb 4th, was the beginning of the 2nd week of fasting and that Monday was like any other Monday… (Besides the fact that I started riding my bike to work the Thursday of the week before.)

Tuesday, Feb 5th comes and Diana had to work and needed me to either get off of work early or stay home so I can pick up the kids from school and also for Wednesday.  So I happily called out.  Turns out that I didn’t have to pick them up from school either day so I had a free day… Still fasting and still praying and enjoying my days off!

Early that Wednesday afternoon I started watching the movie “Flight” and during the middle of the movie, from my heart, I tell God that I really don’t want to be at Bank of America anymore. Right after I said that, I hear …”Quit” (Dramatic Pause)   I repeated the words…Quit?  Really? Quit?   Now the rest of the day, I’m going back and forth on it…I’m thinking, “Man I have to take that Leap of Faith”  but to be honest, I was unsure.

Diana comes home from work a little later that evening. We’re in the kitchen and we are talking like normal. Then I tell her that I’m quitting…She says, “Okay…do it.”  She was all for it.  I’m like, cool!!  (Man, I have an awesome wife)

Later that night, I’m taking a shower and praying…Saying ” God, how do I know it’s you really saying this and not just me going of off my emotions…Right away, I’m told ” because you feel it in your Heart”   The feeling that came over me was so undeniable….I knew it was real……I knew it was God.

It’s past midnight and now the feeling has become so heavy on my heart. I knew I had to do it. God gave me an assignment, I just have to do it.  I said “okay God, I’m going to do it.” I started to plan it all out… I have vacation on this day and this on that day…I’ll save up some money and quit after my birthday (Which is Feb 28th and should be a National Holiday…j/k)

God then said “Quit.”  (I’m thinking now” Quit?!?!?! “ehhh..I don’t know… God says it again “Quit.”  I now say, “God, I don’t have that much saved up to take care of my family….. But a quick thought comes to mind – Wisdom says to plan…and plan some more…make sure everything is in order.  Then another quick thought comes to mind “But trusting in God is ultimate Wisdom.”

Then this comes to mind… “Look at the birds of the air, they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? ”

Truthfully speaking…I was like the waves of the ocean in the midst of a storm, going back and forth…(Not good for Faith)

I opened my Bible app on my phone to read a little and I come across the Verse of the Day.  1 Corinthians 4: 20  ”For the Kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in POWER…”  (Super Dramatic Pause – God is incredible)  I’M DOING IT!!! (Don’t talk about it, be about it)

Thursday morning – We wake up and Diana asked if I’m going to work. I tell her only for a little while, I’m going to leave early today. (She had no idea that I was quitting that day)

I told her many times I was going in for a little while and then end up staying the whole day.  She probably thought the same, that I would end of staying the whole day.

I get dressed…and Am Ready to Quit.

I drive to work going over the conversation of quitting in my head. I get there and park.  I say a quick… “Thank you to God”, take a deep breath, poke out my chest and walked in the building feeling proud that I’m honoring God’s word.

I go straight to my boss’s (Anna) office. She looks at me and mouths the word “Finally” (referring to me “finally” coming to work).  She has someone in her office and they say to come in…. I said, I’m sorry, but I need to talk to her for a sec… (Time was 8:00am)

The person steps out, I shut the door, and before I sat down, I said I’m Quitting….  (Dramatic Pause)

Now we’re having the whole “Are you sure” conversation.

Anna- Are you suuuure ?

Me – Yep

Anna – You don’t want to give a 2 week notice

Me – Nope

Anna – Are you sure ??? Do you want me to help you find a new position…?

Me – Nope

Anna – Are you sure….I don’t want to lose you.

Me – Yep

Anna – Was it me…Most people quit because they hate their boss

Me – Nope

Me – I can’t pretend to like or do this job anymore..

Anna – Are you sure…I can give you another Team.

Me – Yep

More of that goes on for another minute or so….She finally says, let me tell Rick, the Site Leader that you’re quitting. I’m sure he’s going to want to talk to you.  I said, “Okay.”

Anna steps out of the office to go get Rick…

I bow my head and Tell God, Thank you!

I pull out my phone from my pocket and its 8:12…. (Dramatic Pause if you know anything about my “12” stories, which I stopped sharing because I didn’t want people to start thinking I’m crazy)

Fast Forward with two Arrows – ( DVR talk )

Rick wasn’t there. I did my exit interview….Hugged a couple of people and BOUNCED!!!

Got in the car and sent a text to Diana..” Free at Last, Free At last, Thank God Almighty, I’m Free At Last……”    Followed with…I just Quit!

Fast Forward –

Finished my fast on Feb 8th. On the last day, I did water only. No foods…and prayed in the spirit (tongues) for the entire last hour…11pm-12am

Fast Forward with 3 Arrows –

Feb 28th 9:56 AM ( My B-day )

Mike (brother) texted me a screen shot of a contest Experian was doing that a friend sent him.  The message read ” Yo, Experian is having a Video Contest.  Tell your brother to hit me up.  He could win 2gs this week.”

WHAT B-DAY GIFT FROM GOD

I hit him up…got more info.

Submitted a video.

On March 19- I won Two Thousand Dollars

On April 3 2013 – received a call saying I won Twenty Five Thousand Dollars!

I just made my half a year’s salary at Bank of America in one month…. GOD IS GOOOOOOOOD!

That is his testimony which was over 5 or so years ago.   He has increasingly been used by God over and over again, so much so that his wife was able to quit her job as well and be at home for the kids.  Chris continues to work more and more jobs and his name is getting out there.  But this is so far from being over, God has a destiny for Chris that is coming soon…a lot faster than we all expect but its written in God’s heart and the plan will unfold so very soon.

TELL ME GOD IS NOT REAL, TELL ME GOD DOESN’T LOOK OUT FOR US, TELL ME GOD ISN’T THE GREATEST FATHER OF THEM ALL!!!

A scripture God gave me when I was about to take my Leap of Faith and move to another State with my family was this,  “Hold on to the profession of your Faith, without wavering, for God is just in His promises!”  Hebrews 10:23

I wish I could Leap as often as this boy does….but he is definitely an inspiration to our entire family.  Chris’ name is synonymous to Faith.  His behavior and his actions are all based on His faith that he has for the Father.  We are in awe of him….so young but so full of faith.  God touched this boy in the womb I tell you….when a baby is born and he is born full of smiles that just tells me God had conversations with his spirit before sending him to earth to show us what a real Leap of Faith looks like.

Leave a comment